Speak English Salon

懐かしい ★★

Leave a comment

How do you say “懐かしい” in English? Well, it depends. Check out the following:

あの人は私にとってとても懐かしい人です: I have very fond memories of him.

受話器の向こうから彼女の懐かしい声が聞こえてきた: I heard her familiar voice over the phone.

故国が懐かしい: I am homesick for my native country.

雨続きで太陽が懐かしい: This long spell of rain makes me long [yearnfor the sunshine.

久し振りに見る故郷の山々は実に懐かしかった: It was really a sweet pleasure to gaze upon the mountains of my hometown again after such a long time.

私はそれを懐かしく思い出します: I look back on it with nostalgia.

懐かしい故郷: my dear old home

トムが懐かしい: I miss Tom.

家族が懐かしいなあ: How I long to see my family!

________________________________

Speak! English Salon/スピーク英会話サロン
http://web.me.com/josephcamcinnis
福岡市中央区大名1-12-36

Author: Aonghas Crowe

Aonghas (pron. "Ennis") Crowe is an author, writer, blogger, and translator. He splits his time between Fukuoka, Japan and Beirut, Lebanon. Read more by Aonghas Crowe at www.aonghascrowe.com

Leave a Reply

