Speak English Salon

Quiz – 形容詞 + ed/ing ★★

1 Comment

A lot of students have difficulty knowing when to use adjectives ending with -ing or -ed. Here’s something I found on the Internet:

「~ed」、 「~ing」 の形容詞(bored、boring など)
についてお伺いします。

「~ed」 は一般的に、人の感情・精神状態に使うと思いますが

(人・生物) 以外でも使われる事はありますか?

そして「~ing」 は物・状況・人に対して使うとありますが
“「~ed」は人の感情、 「~ing」は人” に使うという所が
混乱してしまうのです。

人に対して使う「~ing」は、その人自体=性格 に対して
という事でしょうか?

また、例えばドラマにて、partyで隣に座っている人が
何も話さず黙々としていて,このpartyつまらないと
感じる時 ”…boring.” と呟くとすると、人、その場の雰囲気
のどちらにつまらないという事を表しているのでしょうか。

Now test your English below or here!

When the students did badly, the teacher became really depressed/depressing and didn’t smile for weeks.

I’m interested/interesting in applying for the job.

I’m interested/interestingin finding out more about this. Where can I look?

The lesson was really bored/boring . I almost fell asleep.

I was disappointed/disappointing by the news. I didn’t expect it.

I don’t understand this exercise. I’m very confused/confusing .

There are a lot of road signs. It’s all very confused/confusing.

I do the same thing every day. My job is very bored/boring.

Cheer up . Don’t feel so depressed/depressing. There are plenty of other jobs.

I thought your behaviour at the party was disgusted/disgusting. You were sick in the middle of the room

My job is very varied. I find it interested/interesting.

I was disgusted/disgusting by his behaviour. It was outrageous.

The performance of the English team was very disappointed/disappointing. They played much worse than expected.

I have nothing to do. I’m bored/boring.

I was interested/interesting by her behaviour. It was very funny.

I am very interested/interesting in this subject. I find it fascinating.

I heard some very depressed/depressing news. I’m going to lose my job. I feel terrible.

I heard a very amused/amusing story. It will make you laugh.

It’s not surprised/surprising that you failed the exam. You never did any work.

My trip to Paris has been cancelled. I’m really disappointed/disappointing . I really wanted to go.

…………………………………………………….

Speak! English Salon/スピーク英会話サロン
http://web.me.com/josephcamcinnis
福岡市中央区大名1-12-36

★ためにならない日本語ブログ↓↓↓
http://22311221.at.webry.info/

Author: Aonghas Crowe

Aonghas (pron. "Ennis") Crowe is an author, writer, blogger, and translator. He splits his time between Fukuoka, Japan and Beirut, Lebanon. Read more by Aonghas Crowe at www.aonghascrowe.com

One thought on “Quiz – 形容詞 + ed/ing ★★

  1. Answers:

    When the students did badly, the teacher became really depressed and didn’t smile for weeks.

    I’m interested in applying for the job.

    I’m interested in finding out more about this. Where can I look?

    The lesson was really boring . I almost fell asleep.

    I was disappointed by the news. I didn’t expect it.

    I don’t understand this exercise. I’m very confused.

    There are a lot of road signs. It’s all very confusing.

    I do the same thing every day. My job is very boring.

    Cheer up . Don’t feel so depressed. There are plenty of other jobs.

    I thought your behaviour at the party was disgusting. You were sick in the middle of the room

    My job is very varied. I find it interesting.

    I was disgusted by his behaviour. It was outrageous.

    The performance of the English team was very disappointing. They played much worse than expected.

    I have nothing to do. I’m bored.

    I was interested by her behaviour. It was very funny.

    I am very interested in this subject. I find it fascinating.

    I heard some very depressing news. I’m going to lose my job. I feel terrible.

    I heard a very amusing story. It will make you laugh.

    It’s not surprising that you failed the exam. You never did any work.

    My trip to Paris has been cancelled. I’m really disappointed. I really wanted to go.

Leave a Reply

